Topic: Windows Openmp exe crashes with message of missing pthreadGC-32.dll

Hello, I am new to Simply Fortran and trying to build an openmp project. As background I will say I am not a programmer. I learned Fortran in the "before time". I think it was Fortran 66 in those days. My coding method is to hack around until it works, then refine as needed. I understand little of the jargon programmers use so I would as for patience with my dumb questions. Ultimately I want to update a simulation code to use the Openmp extensions to allow use of multi-processor Windows machines to increase speed of execution and scale of projects I can try. Thanks in advance for your help.

Right now I am working with sample program for openmp that I have played with a bit and even got it to work with MinGW compiler. In fact, now if I do the following on the command line:

gfortran workshare.f -o workshare -O2 -fopenmp

the program complies and will execute causing all 8 processors in my machine to go busy during the execution. This is good and what I want to have happen.

However, under Simply Fortran, I compile using the -fopenmp compiler option and the linker options -lgomp -lpthread options, the code compiles and links with the following:

==============================================================================
Open Watcom Make Version 1.9 (Built on May 17 2012)
Portions Copyright (c) 1988-2002 Sybase, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Source code is available under the Sybase Open Watcom Public License.
See http://www.openwatcom.org/ for details.
    "F:\SimplyFortran\mingw-w64\bin\gfortran.exe" -c -o build\workshare.o -g -m32 -IF:/SimplyFortran/mingw-w64/include/ -O2 -fopenmp -Jmodules .\workshare.f
    "F:\SimplyFortran\mingw-w64\bin\gfortran.exe" -o f:\riod\temp\workshare.exe -static -m32 build\workshare.o -LF:/SimplyFortran/mingw-w64/lib/ -lgomp -lpthread

* Complete *

This looks normal build from what I can tell.