1 (edited by JohnWasilewski 2014-01-06 22:45:05)

Topic: 64-bit and 32-bit prob. solved

I've been using 64-bit for my project for a couple of months but, after converting to 32-bit, I'm getting good compilation but runtime memory conflict error/failure.   I have tried, and I believe I have managed, to copy into my 32 bit projects the exact equivalent settings to those I am using successfully in my 64-bit version.

The source files  are the very same files, in both versions.
Here's what happens.

64-bit
Compiles OK.
Runs OK

32-bit
Compiles OK
Runs, but fails as soon as I try to open a file with it.
When it runs, it brings up my splash screen perfectly well but, the very moment I pull down the file menu (in my program) to open a data file, it crashes.

This is the error:

Program received signal SIGSEGV: Segmentation fault - invalid memory reference.
Backtrace for this error: #0  ffffffff

One thing I've noticed (probably not relevant) is that the Compiler option to set the target CPU is a fixed setting which does not follow the project.   I have been compiling for my 32-bit library and executable using 'generic' and for the 64-bit lib and exec using 'amd64'. 

I strongly suspect that Jeff will be able to see straight away what I'm doing wrong, so I've sent him some relevant .prj files, makefiles and executables, plus a sample data file.  I'll report here if I learn anything new that might be helpful to others.
---
John

Re: 64-bit and 32-bit prob. solved

I have solved it. Very strange, nonetheless!

My main exécutable project had a statement,
UDat = DateToday()

It has this statement in the both the MAIN program, and then again in one subroutine
Both of these variables should be declared as CHARACTER*9

In the MAIN program, one of these two declarations is in a separately compiled MODULE. The other is declared explicitly at the start.  In the subroutine there was neither the necessary MODULE statement nor the necessary declaration.