Topic: dll callable from VBA for EXCEL 2013

I am a new user of Simply Fortran. I have been programming with Fortran on and off for 40 years. I recently purchased Simply Fortran so I could convert a library of VBA functions and subroutines for EXCEL 2013 to a Fortran dll of callable functions and subroutines. These routines are part of a highly nonlinear thermodynamic model which sometimes takes up to 20 hours to execute. My hope is to dramatically reduce the execution time.

I am running a 32 bit version of EXCEL 2013 using 64 bit Windows 7 Professional running on a Dell Precision 6800 with an Intel Core i7-4800MQ CPU @ 2.70 MHz with 16 GB of ram.

So far, I have had no significant problems converting the VBA code to stand alone Fortran functions and subroutines. I have NOT had any luck in getting the generated dll to work with EXCEL. I have found very little on this topic for GNU Fortran. I have a lot of material on this subject for MS / Compaq / Digital / Intel Fortran. The examples for these versions of Fortran do not work for GNU Fortran. I suspect the problem is mostly related to not having the right compiler switches and or meta-commands in the GNU Fortran and VBA modules.

Any examples or guidance on how to properly call a GNU Fortran function or subroutine form VBA for EXCEL 2013 would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Charles

Re: dll callable from VBA for EXCEL 2013

Charles,

The problem with calling a 32-bit Simply-Fortran-generated DLL from VBA normally centers around two issues:

1. Calling convention

2. Function decorations

For VBA to use a Fortran DLL (and make sure you've built a 32-bit DLL, of course), the Fortran functions/subroutines must use the "STDCALL" calling convention.  To mark a routine as using this standard, you'll need to add the preprocessor directive to your Fortran code within your function/subroutine body:

!GCC$ ATTRIBUTES STDCALL :: MyFunc