Topic: First Time User Help

I need some help using the program.  I've upgraded to a 64-bit machine and my old program won't compile.  I've downloaded the 30-day trial and want to see how this is going to work for me.

I'm a simple programmer, not too many bells-n-whistles in my code.  My source codes have FOR as an extension, not F90 or F77, FWIW.

As part of my checkout, I want to take a program that worked before (under Compaq Visual Fortran) and compile/run with SF and compare results.  Hopefully that will help me validate the use of the code to satisfy the QA requirements I have here at work.

I don't see any real tutorials...someone posted a question about a tutorial but it doesn't look like that was answered, at least not to help me.  I've looked at the Help but don't see anything that is step-by-step.

Can someone provide some real basic instructions on how to do this?  I can't grasp what a "project" is and what happens during makefil, etc.  If the Help had something or on-line had something that was a 10-line program that could be coded and run to show the program steps and verify that it is installed properly, that would be very useful...to me.

Thanks for any help.

Kurt

Re: First Time User Help

Kurt,

If you've downloaded and installed the latest version, 1.25, you should be presented with a "Select New Project" window as soon as you start Simply Fortran.  Two example projects are listed there.  I would suggest selecting "Hello World."  Once selected, Simply Fortran will prompt you for a location to save the project file.  I would suggest creating a new directory somewhere convenient and saving the project file there.  Once you've saved the project file, you should have a fresh project with a single source file that compiles fine.

If you need more help, look at the "Getting Started" topic in the online help under:

Integrated Development Environment->Simply Fortran IDE->Using Simply Fortran