Topic: Warnings and errors...part II

Hi,

I am not an experienced programmer. I do mostly minor changes to existing programs. Up until recently, I was using Fortran Power station 4 but upgrading my computer to Windows 7 64bits made it impossible to use it anymore. Snif!

I found Simply Fortran a few months ago and it was simple to install and to work with. I was able to load my files and compile my program (I am recompiling the hydrological model SWAT: http://swatmodel.tamu.edu/software/swat-model/).  I got a few errors at first but managed to make them disappear. For example a variable declaration would not be recognized. I had to delete and rewrite or to push le line to the 7th column. I now only have warnings, quite a number, but only warnings.  However, my executable is much slower than it used to be (execs compiled with Fortran Power Station  4 & previous trials with Simply Fortran).

Is the slowness due to the numerous warnings I get or are there settings I could use to speed up the execution of my program?

Here are the warnings I mostly get. I am not too worried about variable or dummy unused. The changes in values are not that important either. Could you help me decipher what the others are?

1.    Nonconforming tab character at (1)
2.    Unused variable ‘whatever’ declared at (1)
3.    ‘functionname’ declared at (1) is also the name of an intrinsic. It can only be called via an explicit interface or if declared EXTERNAL
4.    Possible change of value in conversion from REAL(8) to REAL(4) at (1)
5.    Line truncated at (1)  -- ! I managed to put all within col 7 to 76 as it seems it accepts to code only within these columns. Why?
6.    Label 6 at (1) defined but not used
7.    Unused dummy argument ‘name’ at (1)
8.    CHARACTER expression will be truncated in assignment (10/13) at (1) (see line below)
      reccnstps = '             '